What if you fly?

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? 

When I was in the first grade we were given an assignment to tell the class what we wanted to be when we grew up. I stayed up all night and I really couldn’t picture myself as anything other then myself doing everything. 

The next day, I told the teacher I wanted to try everything, she told me, I should be an Actress because I could be a cop, or a fireman, or a princess. Anything. “Kacie you can be anything.” She gave me my first role in a school play that year and it changed my life. 

What do I want to be when I grow up? Me. 

I just want to be me. As a writer I control what I write. What I put into the world is mine and mine alone. Thats the best part of being a writer I think. Sure, you are met with criticism on a daily basis but who cares. You have to live with you. They don’t have anything to do with your life. 

Anything you do in this life, do with your whole heart. I just watched this great documentary last night on Warren Buffet. He was teaching a class and said something to the effect of, “If you are payed to do what you want to do, you would always be happy. You would jump out of bed each morning with joy.” 

That was what I got out of what he said. That is not a direct quote, but very close to. 

I sat in bed thinking, thats what I want. I want to be a payed writer and every day I want to get out of bed, spend an amazing day with my family, and when my daughter naps, and is asleep at night, I will write. I will write anything that I want to write. 

There is this amazing quote by J.M. Barrie,written for Peter Pan,

“Just think of happy thoughts and then you’ll fly.”

I want my daughter to grow up and be anything she wants to be. I want her to be happy.

I watch critics shred apart people every day. I just watched E’s Fashion Police for the Academy Awards. I watched them scorn at how Nicole Kidman was dressed. I was appalled. One of the most beautiful women, and they are just ripping her apart. 

You know? DON’T BE THAT PERSON. Let’s lift each other up. If we spent more time lifting other people up we could accomplish incredible things in this world. The more you tear people down, the more likely they will fall. 

I will leave you with this…

“There is freedom waiting for you,
On the breezes of the sky,
And you ask “What if I fall?”
Oh but my darling,
What if you fly?”
― Erin Hanson

Leave a Reply

